Puritan Prayers: Spiritual Helps

From the Valley of Vision – pg. 242-243

Eternal Father,

It is amazing love, that thou hast sent thy Son to suffer in my stead, that thou hast added the Spirit to teach, comfort, guide, that thou hast allowed the ministry of angels to wall me round; all heaven subserves the welfare of a poor worm.

Permit thy unseen servants to be ever active on my behalf, and to rejoice when grace expands in me.

Suffer them never to rest until my conflict is over, and I stand victorious on salvation’s shore.

Grant that my proneness to evil, deadness to good, resistance to thy Spirit’s motions, may never provoke thee to abandon me.

May my hard heart awake thy pity, not thy wrath, and if the enemy gets an advantage through my corruption, let it be seen that heaven is mightier than hell, that those for me are greater than those against me.

Arise to my help in richness of covenant blessings…

About Justin Wheeler

Justin Wheeler is the preaching pastor of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Wylie, TX. He is married to Leigh and has three children.
This entry was posted in Books, Puritan Prayers and Devotions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Puritan Prayers: Spiritual Helps

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I have the Valley of Vision book of prayers and they are really helpful to me at times. However, when I read a line like…”Grant that my proneness to evil, deadness to good, resistance to the Spirit’s motions, may never provoke thee to abandon me.” I have a really hard time theologically with a lot of it. First, I agree I am prone to evil however, I am also desiring to good because of Christ in me, therefore I am dead to good as it says. I may be resistant to the Spirit at times but I certainly don’t believe I, as a secure believer in Christ’s finished work on my behalf, would ever be able to provoke Him to abandon me. He is as C.S. Lewis puts it “The Hound of Heaven”, to me.

  2. Justin Wheeler says:

    Elizabeth,

    Thanks for the comment and i also appreciate the fact hat you are interacting with the text, that shows a great deal of maturity and discernment on your part. On the points you have made i would agree, but I don’t think that the main point of these prayers is necessarily to convey theological accuracy so much as the angst that we feel in the valleys of our spiritual journey. I think of David in Psalm 51 when he said, “Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me.” Was such a fate possible for David? Wasn’t he secure in the Love of God? I think the point of such a cry is not theological accuracy but relational intimacy expressed through very real emotion.

    Justin

    • Elizabeth says:

      Excellent rebuttal! And I thought of that possibility while I was writing my comment. I think what’s happening for me is a concern for Christians who read these works without a solid understanding of their identity and begin to really struggle with their acceptance, as I did when I was in my 20’s and searching isolated from Community. I also grew up in a very legalistic setting in a lot of ways and that has caused me to have a bent towards self-loathing which isn’t what God wants from me. So, sometimes when I read these statements they have a stronger unintended affect on me. I really appreciate you responding and posting. I am getting good counsel from several different sources, now including you, that is teaching me the value and necessity of connecting with God through real emotion for the relational intimacy we both long for. Thanks again!
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

