Memorizing Philippians

Most of us have toyed with the idea of memorizing Scripture and at some point we may have even made a go of it. Early on as a believer I was encouraged to partner with a friend to memorize individual verses and I jumped in with both feet. About five weeks in and we all had learned a few verses, but the luster was gone and it got pushed to the back burner where things get cold and unappealing.

In Seminary, I had a professor who spent much of his life memorizing Scripture, and not just verses, entire books of the Bible. He challenged us as a class to take a book and memorize it over the semester, as incentive, he made it a graded assignment.Worked for me.

Since that time I have gone from warm to cold and back again in the discipline of Scripture memory, but it has always been a discipline that I saw as valuable in ministry and life.  So, when Tim Brister started tweeting about his second installment of Partnering to Remember – a scripture memory plan geared at memorizing entire books of the Bible – I was eager to dive in for discipline and accountability.

Then something weird happened. I went to see a friend in order to borrow his trailer and I met a guy named Tim (Not Tim Brister). Upon meeting Tim and letting him know that I pastor Cornerstone in Wylie, he almost immediately asked how I felt about Scripture memory. He too has devoted a great deal of his time into memorizing large portions of Scripture and after an hour long conversation he had challenged me to memorize a book with him. Like I said weird, not Tim but the circumstances.

To take it one step further I began to preach through Philippians about 5 weeks ago and it just so happens that the Partnering to Remember 2011 plan is set for the book of Philippians. So, I’m in and I want to invite you to join me.

Here is all you need to know and here are some pictures if you are more visual. Next step is to print off the pdf and stick everything together, enlist a partner who can hold you accountable and then get started.

With the New Year just days away, I hope you will set this as one of your resolutions; to spend time filling your mind and heart with God’s Word. If you’re in, let me know and I will try to spur you on along the way.

About Justin Wheeler

Justin Wheeler is the preaching pastor of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Wylie, TX. He is married to Leigh and has three children.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Disciplines and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memorizing Philippians

  1. Traci Cherry says:

    How about a “Memory Martin”? The brand of notebook I currently have available for this is Martin Designs. Although I do have a great appreciation for the Moleskine. The real point of this response is that I’m hungry…and I haven’t really known what to do lately. Apathy has set in and it needs to be greatly battled. I always encourage the children in my life to store up God’s Word, yet I struggle tremendously with it. My excuse: I have a bad memory and therefore, I become very discouraged (and lazy). I think it will be exciting and helpful to be a part of a group striving for the same goal to be strengthened in the Lord by hiding His Words in the heart! I’m sure Jason will be a great encouragement to me as well. I just wanted to let you know that I WANT to do this. Thank you for the information and encouragement! I’m 5 days behind now, so I better get going…

  2. Justin Wheeler says:

    Traci,

    It is good to hear you are on board for this and I do believe Jason will be a great encouragement to you. By the way, don’t worry about the time frame of the program so much as the content and discipline which promises to bear fruit. I got a two week head start because i am sure that i will need a week or two to catch up down the road. So basically, the calendar doesn’t apply to me either.

    I will try and check in from time to time and see how you are making progress. Tell Jason and Anily “hi” and trust that we miss you guys.

    Justin

  3. Rose says:

    Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

Leave a Reply

