Knowing your Audience

Perhaps the most pressing issue on my mind of late has been the quickly approaching and much longed for responsibility of preaching to the congregation on a weekly basis. In just a few short weeks I will step behind the pulpit of Cornerstone Baptist Church, Wylie, TX as the Pastor for Preaching and I am daily reminded of my need for growth in regard to a consistent preaching ministry.

As with most of the areas of my life where I understand my need for growth, I have made my need a matter of prayer, I have bought a few books on the topic and have begun to listen to more sermons by preachers who stir my affections for Christ. This morning however, I came across a timely blog post by a brother who always challenges his readers to think more deeply about their life in Christ.

Tim Brister has highlighted an area of preparation for preaching that many are quick to overlook and his encouragement in this post serves as a call for me and others to be mindful in hopes of being an effective agent of reconciliation. Read his post here.

About Justin Wheeler

Justin Wheeler is the preaching pastor of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Wylie, TX. He is married to Leigh and has three children.
This entry was posted in Evangelism, Preaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

