Redeeming Fall Sports with Bold Gospel Speech

soccer

With the school year getting underway and fall around the corner, I find myself getting excited about new opportunities. My two oldest kids will be playing organized sports for the first time and I truly can’t wait. I’m excited but also trying to be balanced, I mean after all they are kids playing a game. They are not world class athletes vying for the cup or anything, and let’s face it the tendency for some parents is to get way too serious about something that is supposed to be a game.

As a Christ-follower I want to not only keep it in perspective, but I also want to make the best use of my time while on the sidelines. As a former athlete, I will have a tendency to get real focused on the ins and outs of the game itself and would prefer to stand silently analyzing things. Lord please don’t let me waste my kids activities by standing on the sidelines with my arms crossed, but let me redeem this game and use it as an opportunity to build relationships with new people and glory in the gospel through conversation.

That is my hope and so my prayer is that Christ would make me bold in my speech. In fact, I am borrowing the prayer of the Apostle Paul from Ephesians 6:19-20. “Pray also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought…”

This will be my prayer as I engage as a father for the first time on the sidelines of my kid’s soccer season. Please join me in prayer and join me in laboring to redeem fall sports by boldly proclaiming the mystery of the gospel…as we ought.

About Justin Wheeler

Justin Wheeler is the preaching pastor of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Wylie, TX. He is married to Leigh and has three children.
This entry was posted in Evangelism, Family, Following Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Redeeming Fall Sports with Bold Gospel Speech

  1. Samuel says:

    Excelente artigo, precisamos de pessoas assim que falem a verdade, outro site com questões polêmicas é o http://www.contradicoesbiblicas.com.br

Leave a Reply

