A Must Hear Sermon

One of my favorite classes in college was an Early American Lit course I took in my third year. One of the reasons it was so much fun was due to the fact that my professor was a bit odd and  she enjoyed every minute of the class, which was somewhat contagious, at least for me. My wife was in the class with me and she always ribbed me because I seemed to be the teachers pet in a way; and she was right.

But the reason this was so can easily be tied to the course content and the season of my life. I had just prior to this semester been born again of the Holy Spirit. I was a new creature and all of my life was changing. My desires were changing, and I wanted to know all I could about God and His people. Out of class I was reading the Bible for the first time and it was exhilarating, but in the classroom I was reading of the early pilgrims and their trials in the New World.

For me, it was the best of both worlds:  Getting credit for a 300 level class while feasting on the wisdom and trials of men and women of faith. It was in this class that I first met Jonathon Edwards, and was required to read his sermon, Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God. It fell heavily upon me and broke me apart as high tide upon a child’s sandcastle.  It is a powerful sermon and it has never left me.

Just last year I purchased a set of Christian Classics narrated and read by Max McLean, Which included Edwards sermon along with the Conversion of Augustine, Luther’s response at the Diet of Worms, Bunyan’s Pilrgrim’s Progress, and Whitefield’s The Method of Grace. Pilgrim’s progress stays in my car at all times, but these others are well worth the cost.

But the reason I am writing this is to let all of you know that you can download a free copy of Edward’s Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God for free here. Most of us have heard of this sermon, but there are few who have actually read, much less heard it narrated so well. It is billed as the most powerful sermon ever preached on American soil…take that to heart if you listen.

About Justin Wheeler

Justin Wheeler is the preaching pastor of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Wylie, TX. He is married to Leigh and has three children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

