Hungry for Acceptance?

When Jesus returned from fasting in the wilderness and overcoming the temptations of Satan, he came into the synagogue and declared himself the annointed one of God. His reception was anything but grand.

When they heard these things, all who were in the synagogue were filled with wrath. And they rose up and drove him out of the town bringing him to the brow of the hill on which their town was built, so that they could throw him down the cliff (Luke 4:28-29).

Obviously, Jesus was more concerned with proclaiming truth in this moment than gaining acceptance. Should the life and pursuit of those who follow Christ be skewed in the opposite direction?

If our Lord is willing to raise the ire of the worldly and the reiligious alike by proclaiming truth, should not we who profess to follow Him walk in the same manner? It appears as though Jesus never saw the fine line of distinction that we in 21st Century America see when it comes to proclaiming truth to the world and/or gaining acceptance in the world. 

Imagine what life for Christians would be like if we were more driven to share the truth in love with our co-workers and friends; instead of remaining neutral for the sake of acceptance. If this became the norm for professing Christians in America what would change?

About Justin Wheeler

Justin Wheeler is the preaching pastor of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Wylie, TX. He is married to Leigh and has three children.
This entry was posted in The Cost of Discipleship and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hungry for Acceptance?

  1. rodcarroll says:

    It’s strange how we so often thing there is a fine line between speaking the truth and being accepted, but that is not the case at all. We were NEVER called to be accepted and yet I find this is an area I so often struggle with. It is such a worldy mindset. I want to be bold for Christ forsaking myself. I just read today where Paul in Acts 20:24 said: “But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God”. I want to be like that, but not so others will accept me.

  2. Justin Wheeler says:

    Rod,

    I too want to be a man who counts my life as a thing to be spent testifying to the grace and glory of God. but, more often than not I find that I better resemble one of Paul’s other statements…Oh wretched man that I am. I’ve been studying Luke recently and looking at Jesus’ early ministry. I’ve been reminded that his life was consumed with two things…
    1. Withdrawing to desolate places to pray (Luke 4:1-2, 5:16)
    2. Teaching all people of the Kingdom of God

    I want to be like that, and I am certain that this will not gain me any acceptance either.

    Great to hear from you,

    Justin

  3. Pingback: Acceptance…We All Want It (And Sometimes At Any Cost) « From One Degree Of Glory To Another

Leave a Reply

